Call for nominations: Free Press Awards 2017

Applications are being accepted for the Free Press Awards 2017.

The Most Resilient Journalist Award honours journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. Nominees have often faced imprisonment, violence and censorship for doing their job. The winner of the MostResilient Journalist Award will receive EUR 15,000 as well as an expenses-paid visit to the Netherlands. In 2016, winner of the Most Resilient Journalist Award was the Pakistani journalist Hamid Mir.

Submit your nomination

The Newcomer of the Year – Hans Verploeg Award recognises talented new journalists who show extraordinary dedication to journalism as a means to hold those in power accountable and to serve as a watchdog in the public interest. They manage to share stories that would otherwise be left untold. The winner of the Newcomer of the Year Award will receive a media scholarship as well as an expenses-paid visit to the Netherlands. In 2016, Nigerian journalist ‘Fisayo Soyombo won the Newcomer of the Year Award.

Submit your nomination

The deadline for entries is 1 August 2017.

Anyone in the broader field of journalism, in any country around the world can be nominated.

The Free Press Awards will be conferred at Free Press Live on 2 November 2017, the International Day to End Impunity.

Read more about the award

Latest news

Be the first to comment on "Call for nominations: Free Press Awards 2017"

Leave a comment

Your comment will be published after being approved.


* - References to Kosovo are without prejudice to positions on status. They are in line with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244/99 and the opinion by the International Court of Justice on the Kosovo declaration of independence.