#TellMyStory: 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Deadline Extended to 20 March 2017

Who tells the stories to the world about the development challenges we care about? Journalists. When it comes to democracy, human rights, poverty eradication, and religious freedom, journalists are there capturing the big moments. The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize celebrates the best and the bravest among them on a global scale. The deadline for applications has now been extended to 20 March 2017.

The 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize has been launched with the hashtag #TellMyStory. The Prize recognises outstanding journalists – amateur and professional, broadcasters and bloggers – whose reporting demonstrates their commitment to development, poverty eradication, democracy and human rights, as well as inspires people to improve lives in their own communities.

Launched by the European Commission in 1992, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize celebrates the best traditions of journalism in uncovering powerful and moving stories, giving a voice to those who often find it impossible or difficult to be heard.

Applications featuring print, digital and broadcast stories are eligible from Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Europe. Each winner will be awarded €5 000 by an independent jury. This year for the first time, the award ceremony will take place at European Development Days which takes place in Brussels in June.

Freedom of religion or belief

This year’s competition includes a special prize on the freedom of religion or belief outside the EU, rewarding exceptional reporting on the inspiring stories and initiatives which promote this freedom, respect for religious diversity and inter-religious cooperation.

Neven Mimica, European Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, said:

“This year marks the 25th anniversary of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. We’ve expanded its remit over the years to recognise both amateur and professional journalists, but the aim of the Prize remains the same: to celebrate the best reporting on development issues. I urge journalists to enter the competition and share their powerful stories with us.”

Established 25 years ago by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is awarded in memory of Lorenzo Natali, former Commissioner for Development and a staunch defender of freedom of expression, democracy, human rights, and development.

Apply now

Are your stories informing, inspiring, and giving voice to the voiceless? If you’re a journalist – professional or amateur – apply to win the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. Application deadline has now been extended to 20 March 2017.

Professional and amateur journalists are invited to submit an example of their work related to the themes of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. The report can be in any format, i.e. published online (including blogs), in print, or in the form of a short radio or TV broadcast. See below for more details on how to register and information on the rules. Applications can be submitted until 20 March 2017.

For more information
The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize website: http://ec.europa.eu/europeaid/lnp
Rules and criteria: https://ec.europa.eu/europeaid/lnp/lorenzo-natali-prize/rules-faq_en
Application form: https://ec.europa.eu/europeaid/node/95894
More information on the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017.

Social Media


Latest news

Be the first to comment on "#TellMyStory: 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Deadline Extended to 20 March 2017"

Leave a comment

Your comment will be published after being approved.


* - References to Kosovo are without prejudice to positions on status. They are in line with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244/99 and the opinion by the International Court of Justice on the Kosovo declaration of independence.