Entries Open for Free Press Awards 2020

The Free Press Awards recognise journalists and media professionals who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information. The awards honour journalists and media professionals who continue no matter what. 

Free Press Unlimited wants to honour journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. The Free Press Awards will recognise exceptional work in the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

Newcomer of the Year – Hans Verploeg Award: The category Newcomer of the Year in Journalism recognises talented new journalists who have put in a strong performance when it comes to reporting the news. The nominees all demonstrate exceptional commitment to press freedom and independent coverage and use innovative methods to disseminate this information. Nominees in the category Newcomer of the Year show extraordinary dedication to journalism as a means to hold those in power accountable and to serve as a watchdog in the public interest. They manage to share stories that would otherwise be left untold. In recognition of his or her achievements, the winner of the Newcomer of the Year – Hans Verploeg Award will receive a media scholarship.

Most Resilient Journalist Award: The Free Press Award in the category Most Resilient Journalist is presented to a journalist who has demonstrated extraordinary strength of character, courage and perseverance in reporting the news. Nominees of the Most Resilient
Journalist have often faced imprisonment, violence and censorship for doing their job. They have shown a strong commitment to press freedom and independent information, and are generally highly-regarded journalists who are willing to risk their life or their freedom in order to keep the public informed.

Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of
international experts.

The winner in the category ‘Newcomer of the Year’ will receive a media
scholarship by choice.

The winner in the category ‘Most Resilient Journalist’ will receive a
cash prize of €15,000.

The deadline to nominate a journalist for both categories is August 1st 2020. Use one of the nomination forms on the Free Press Unlimited website to nominate a journalist.