Milena Jesenská Fellowship for Journalists

Image by Engin Akyurt from Pixabay

The Milena Jesenská Fellowship Program, named after the Czech journalist, writer, and translator Milena Jesenská (1896–1944), offers European journalists (including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Turkey) time off from their professional duties in order to pursue in-depth research on a topic of their choice.

Applicants must have worked in print, broadcast or online journalism for several years and must have an outstanding professional record. Applications by entry-level journalists or students will be rejected.

During the next Fellowship term (September 2023–June 2024), four Fellows are invited to spend three months each at the IWM in Vienna, Austria. They will receive a stipend of EUR 3,000 per month. In addition, the IWM provides them with an office including access to the internet, administrative and research facilities as well as other services free of charge.

Applications should include:

  • a concise project proposal in English (max. 7,500 characters incl. spaces) with a description of the intended outcome (book, articles, film, TV or radio broadcast, etc.)
  • a curriculum vitae
  • a list of publications

Application deadline: 9 January 2023, 11.59 p.m. CET

More information: Milena Jesenská Fellowship Program